

CONFERENCE OF THE CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMITTEES ON AGRICULTURE OF THE PARLIAMENTS OF THE MEDITERRANEAN MEMBER-STATES OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS 30 May 2025, Nicosia • Plenary of the House



## **PROGRAMME**

## CONFERENCE OF THE CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMITTEES ON AGRICULTURE OF THE PARLIAMENTS OF THE MEDITERRANEAN MEMBER-STATES OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

House of Representatives, Nicosia, 29-31 May 2025

## Friday, 30 May 2025

09.00	Opening of the Conference. Venue: Plenary hall of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Cyprus.
09.00 - 09.20	Opening and welcoming remarks by:
	• Ms. Annita Demetriou, H.E. the President of the House of Representatives.
	• Mr. Yiannakis Gavriel, Chairman of the House Standing Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources.
09.20 - 10.50	Session I: "The impact of the climate crisis, water scarcity and geopolitical tensions on agriculture".
09.20 - 10.10	Keynote speeches by:
	• Dr Maria Panayiotou, Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and the Environment.
	• Dr Xenia Loizidou, Civil and Coastal Engineer, Director of Isotech Environmental research and consultancy.
	• Mr. Charalambos Theopemptou, Chairman of the House Standing Committee on the Environment.
10.10 - 10.50	Debate.
10.50 - 11.00	Family photo (Venue: Plenary hall).
11.00 - 11.20	Coffee break (Venue: Atrium).
11.20 – 12.50	Session II: "The future of Agriculture and Food".
11.20 - 12.10	Keynote speeches by:
	• Mr. Christophe Hansen, Commissioner for Agriculture and Food.



## CONFERENCE OF THE CHAIRPERSONS OF THE COMMITTEES ON AGRICULTURE OF THE PARLIAMENTS OF THE MEDITERRANEAN MEMBER-STATES OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS 30 May 2025, Nicosia • Plenary of the House



- Ms. Marijana Petir, Chairperson of the Agriculture Committee, Parliament of Croatia.
- Dr Dimitris Tsaltas, Professor of the Department of Agricultural Sciences, Biotechnology and Food Science, Cyprus University of Technology.
- **12.10 12.50** Debate.
- **12.50 14.20** Lunch.
- **14.30 16.00** Session III: "Presentation of legislative initiatives and best practices at the national level to achieve sustainable and resilient agrifood systems".
- **14.30 15.20** Keynote speeches by:
  - Mr. Pascal Lecamp, Vice-President of the Committee on Economic Affairs, National Assembly of France.
  - Mr. Joseba Andoni Agirretxea Urresti, Chair of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Committee, Congress of Deputies of Spain.
  - Ms. Sofia Matsi, Executive Director, Cyprus Environment Foundation.
- **15.20 16.00** Debate.
- **16.00 16.30** Adoption of the Joint Declaration.

Closing Remarks by Mr. Yiannakis Gavriel, Chairman of the House Standing Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources.